homepage Forums Altimetry Forum BRAT installation on Ubuntu 16.4

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  brat 1 year, 9 months ago.

• Author

Shamsa Kanwal
    Participant

Hellow everyone,

I am a research student at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and new to the BRAT. I have recently installed BRAT software on my linux machine. It was successfully installed. When I double click the icon created on the desktop, the GUI does not open. After attempting to open, it closes without giving any error. I’d really appreciate your help in this regard.

Thank you,

SK

• #15296 Reply

fernando martinho

Hi Shamsa,

Unfortunately, there are no BRAT precompiled binaries for Ubuntu. The only binary Linux distributions supported are Debian 8, 32 and 64 bit.

For all other distributions, the standard solution is to build them using the distributed BRAT source package. This is, however, an hard and time consuming task. For those users that nevertheless want to try it, the document SampleBuild.pdf, in the doc folder of the source package, provides detailed instructions for building in Debian 8, and with the necessary adjustments it may provide some hints for building in other systems.

The best I can do is describe here the solution I personally found, and quickly tested in a Kubuntu 16.04.2 machine, 64 bit, with all system updates installed. But please note that this is a hack, was very poorly tested, and we cannot provide support to it if something does not work as expected. I used the command

ldd ./brat